We announce the competition for the best bachelor’s or master’s thesis on the position of the Visegrad Group countries in the European Union. The competition is organized under the project “Visegrad Group Cooperation within the EU: Challenging the Rise of Euroscepticism” financed by the International Visegrad Fund.

The competition is organized by the University of Economics in Katowice together with partner universities of the project: Mendel University in Brno, University of Economics in Bratislava and the National School of Public Administration in Budapest.

We invite you to submit works falling under the main topic of the competition, i.e. devoted to the analysis of the position of all or selected countries of the Visegrad Group in the structures of the European Union, as well as economic, political or social cooperation between these countries.

Bachelor’s and master’s theses defended in 2020-2022 at universities in Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary are eligible for the competition. Applications are accepted until August 31, 2022, and the best thesis will be announced by the end of October 2022.

The thesis should be submitted via the application form, which will be available soon on this webpage. The thesis should be submitted by its author with the consent of the thesis supervisor. The application will require a thesis in pdf format and a copy of the diploma confirming the award of the bachelor’s or master’s degree on the basis of the submitted thesis or a document confirming the successful completion of the defense.

The award in the competition is – apart from the relevant certificate – free participation in an international scientific conference organized by the Mendel University in Brno and the possibility of publishing an article in a peer-reviewed scientific journal. For the purposes of the award ceremony, the organizer covers travel and accommodation costs in Brno. Additional prizes will be obtained from sponsors and co-organizers of the competition.

Competition Jury:
Prof. Sławomir Czech
Prof. Maciej Miszewski
Prof. Lubor Lacina
Prof. Libor Židek
Prof. Gábor Kutasi
Dr Péter Pál Kolozsi
Dr Martin Gress
Dr Katarína Brockova
Dr Monika Krakowiak-Drzewiecka (Jury secretary)

Download: competition regulations and supervisor’s declaration.

You can read the data protection policy here.